RSS

Demon Copperhead

08 Aug

Set in Appalachia, Barbara Kingsolver’s award winning novel parallels Dicken’s David Copperfield. Her hero Demon’s life is a mountain of hardship. He’s born to a teen mother who struggles with substance abuse. When she dies Demon is put into the foster system and his life declines further.

I never read David Copperfield, but have seen a film adaptation. Dickens is a master and David Copperfield is surely a classic. I’ve read his other books, so I’m permit, so I’m confident that this one is also stellar.

However, although the main character Demon (what a name, even tongue in cheek) is sympathetic, and occasionally observant, I confess I didn’t finish this book club choice. It was painful to read, mainly because of the constant onslaught of bad luck and abuse the hero suffers. I’m not a sadist and I felt the author was abusing her readers with this story.

Better books in this vein are Hillbilly Elegy, Educated or Glass Castle, which are all nonfiction and offer hope.

 
Comments Off on Demon Copperhead

Posted by on August 8, 2023 in fiction

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.