RSS

The Willoughbys

23 Jan

willoughbys

Lois Lowry’s The Willoughby’s is a a charming, cute book about three “old fashioned” children with big vocabularies who wish they were orphans like Pollyanna, Jane Eyre, James from James and the Giant Peach or such. Their parents are churlish much like Matilda’s. It’s an entertaining read that pokes fun at many children’s stories with tongue in cheek humor. I did wonder if many kids would get the jokes and if the story would satisfy those who didn’t.

I must say The Willoughby’s isn’t as good as the books it spoofs. As I read I was always aware of the author’s cleverness and I couldn’t get wrapped up in the story. I was entertained, but not wowed.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2014 in Children's Lit

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Willoughbys

 
