RSS

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

14 Oct

Aw shucks, I just didn’t like reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn for my book club. Getting through this classic became more and more of a chore as I progressed. I had to read this as a high school freshmen and don’t remember hating or loving it. It was okay.

This time I had a more negative experience. The episodes seemed hokey rather than funny. I just couldn’t buy into the Royal Nonesuch and other episodes that seemed over the top.

I got tired of Huck’s innocence behind his rough, uncivilized ways. Oh, yeah, the noble savage always knows more than the citified. Hey, it’s never that simple.

I remember a friend commenting in my freshmen year, “Why didn’t they just cross over to Illinois since that was a free state?” We never got a satisfactory answer on that as I recall.

When reading, I kept imagining Twain using Huck to convince me of this thinking. It seemed like a cheap trick.

I much preferred Great Expectations.

 
Comments Off on The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Posted by on October 14, 2012 in American Lit, classic

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
