RSS

A Dance With Jane Austen by Susannah Fullerton – A Review

14 Sep

For other Austen fans:

Jane Austen's World

A Dance with Jane Austen: How a Novelist and her Characters went to the Ball, Susannah Fullterton

“Ah”, I said, when I saw Susannah Fullerton’s book in my mail box. “Here’s just the book I need.” Some of the biggest gaps in my Austen reference library concern dance and music. Whenever I wanted to find out more about the social customs of balls and dancing, how ladies and gentleman conducted themselves, the food served at supper balls, the etiquette of a gentleman’s introduction to a lady before he could dance with her, precisely when the waltz became acceptable not only among the racy upper crust but with villagers in the hinterlands as well, and the difference between private balls and public balls, I had to consult a variety of books. This was time-consuming, and a bit frustrating, for there were variations in details that each source offered.

And now…

View original post 925 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “A Dance With Jane Austen by Susannah Fullerton – A Review

 
