RSS

The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

09 Jul

Bridget’s Review

Wow! Read this book!

My mom recommended this book to me a few months ago and a woman on a plane next to me told me that she had just finished it and could not get it out of her mind.

I read it in two days.

In a remarkably matter of fact yet connected voice, Jeannette Walls details her childhood. As the child of a brilliant alcoholic father and an artistic irresponsible mother, Walls suffered extreme deprivation. But for all that, she never whines or blames and she emerges with a remarkable lack of anger.

I was often angry with Walls’ parents but I was left marveling at the love this family felt for each other through it all.

While the book itself does not include a reading group guide, I think it would stimulate a lively book club discussion.

Try the Book Browse reading group guide.

 
Comments Off on The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

Posted by on July 9, 2011 in contemporary, memoir, non-fiction

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
