RSS

Misanthrope

19 Apr

My April selection for my bookclub is Moliere’s misanthrope. I had imagined the classic play in my head based on theatrical posters. It actually was quite a bit different from what I expected.

The main character wasn’t as misanthropic as I expected. Rather he was just rigid in his expectations of honest thought and deed. He abhorred anyone who was at all two faced. I can’t say I blamed him. Yet it was such a fake society that the result was he didn’t like anyone. There’s a romantic triangle and it’s all very comic. Also the whole play is done in rhyme, which got to me after awhile. It’s a quick read though and easily ups one’s list of classics read.

 
Comments Off on Misanthrope

Posted by on April 19, 2011 in classic, French Lit, humor

 

Comments are closed.

 
